Love is…

Older now than I used to be, I often find myself just sitting, looking at Jesus and remembering. The scriptures that were there, written in large letters, that’s how I explain it, are still there, written large, unfaded on my heart.

We love because He first loved us”<
(1 John 4:19)

When I first read this lovely letter, King James Authorised Version in those days, the world was changing, but the calculator, and personal computer were still future tense, The Beatles were rarely out of the charts, and Adrian Henri wrote a poem called Love is.

Love is feeling cold in the back of vans
Love is a fan club with only two fans
Love is walking holding paint stained hands
Love is

Love is fish and chips on winter nights
Love is blankets full of strange delights
Love is when you don’t put out the lights
Love is

(From Adrian Henri, Love is .. (Penguin Modern Poets 1967)

Well, the Mersey Scene and the swinging sixties, passed me by, I always was a shy mouse, but God’s Love didn’t… I knew that He loved me and I loved Him. I listened to Songs in the Top 10, and the lyrics were pretty good, but the love-song playing in my heart was to the beat of a different drummer.

I never was a member of a fan club with only two fans.
But I knew that God is, and that Love is.
I knew that God is love.
It was and still is, His Love which warms me through and through. His love which directs my thoughts and actions.

Unless He had not loved me first, I really could “never have known love at all”

I find myself looking in the direction of an empty Cross, where the Love of God was so wondrously shown, and I am lost in the Love of the Resurrected Christ and my God.

img_0336

“I do not ask you to think a great deal, but to love a great deal”
(Charles de Foucauld)

Leave a Reply

