I Remember When

Tomorrow is Palm Sunday; this evening my thoughts have flown back,down through the years; I could almost have begun with the words,

“I remember when…”

These things I remember as I pour out my soul;
How I used to go to the house of God, under the protection of the Mighty One
With shouts of joy and praise
Among the festive throng.

(Psalm 42:4)

The Psalmist is someone clearly remembering former and happier days in a time of trouble. The opening verse of Psalm 42 has been echoed over and over again in countless hymns and choruses. They express soul thirst, and longing after God ..

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants after you my God. (Psalm 42:1)

It’s not that I am feeling cast down, and I definitely don’t feel separated from God, what I am feeling is nostalgia for the music and singing of days past; singing in a choir, I am thinking of Palm Sunday Evenings and people, long since called home to God, Stainer’s Crucifixion. The words of God So Loved the world are written indelibly on my heart.

Times change, people change with the times, yet our longing and heartfelt desire to worship God don’t change. They are always there like a spring of water, down deep in our soul, move the stone from the mouth of the well, and up they gush. Who can stop them?

I will enter His gates with thanksgiving in my heart,
I will enter His courts with praise,
I will say this is the day the Lord has made,
I will rejoice because He has made me glad

Old style, new style
Classic or modern
It doesn’t matter.
I was made to praise God.

img_0499-1

I chose this image because Jesus said,

“Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.” ((John 13:8)

He washed my feet so that I could enter His gates with praise.

God placed all things under His feet and appointed Him to be head over everything fir the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills everything in every way. (Ephesians 1:23)

Jesus is Lord, He fills our praises. He is still washing feet today.

Leave a Reply

